Home Forum XMEGA Xminilab Firmware upgrade
 Gabotronics Forum :: XMEGA Xminilab
Welcome Guest   
 Subject :Firmware upgrade.. 2014-11-27 09:51:41 
GNU
Joined: 2014-09-28 02:29:40
Posts: 12
Location

Hi,

Is it possible to use the "Firmware Update" feature in the Xscope software? If so, then how?

The button is grayed out and the app keeps saying I need to upgrade my firmware.

I've got a Xminilab Portable (FW 2.28) connected to a Mac running the latest version of OSX.

IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Firmware upgrade.. 2014-11-27 19:41:33 
Kenidowa
Joined: 2014-06-04 15:21:48
Posts: 13
Location
I am also interested in this question or do I need to follow the manual section 9.2 FW upgrade using bootloader. If so what are pins 1 and 6 that need to be connected? 9.2.2 activating bootloader third bullet "For devices without buttons, connect pins 1 and 6 of the external port, then connect the USB cable." I have the plain versions no buttons or display so using usb and the software application.
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Firmware upgrade.. 2014-11-28 07:18:34 
ganzziani
Joined: 2012-04-02 15:42:39
Posts: 463
Location: Sarasota, FL
 

The "Firmware Update" is not implemented yet, and when it is, it will not be compatible with current bootloaders. It will be a feature only available to future devices (unless you can program the new bootloader with a dedicated programmer).
For now, you will need to follow the procedure in the manual, section 9.2.
For the Xprotolab Plain (no buttons), you need to connect pins 1 and 6 of the surface mount connector pads, right next to the USB connector. See the picture attached.

 



Attachments
 plain.png [758 KB]
IP Logged
Gabriel Anzziani
 Subject :Re:Firmware upgrade.. 2014-11-28 16:31:41 
Kenidowa
Joined: 2014-06-04 15:21:48
Posts: 13
Location
ok that helps. I will try when i get a chance. I have downloaded the Atmel FLIP program but need to fix an error with it before I can try.
Thanks
ken
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Firmware upgrade.. 2014-12-04 18:51:27 
Kenidowa
Joined: 2014-06-04 15:21:48
Posts: 13
Location
Has anyone updated FW using the Atmel FLIP app?
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Firmware upgrade.. 2014-12-06 03:33:06 
ganzziani
Joined: 2012-04-02 15:42:39
Posts: 463
Location: Sarasota, FL
 
I do it all the time. What is the error that you are getting?
IP Logged
Gabriel Anzziani
 Subject :Re:Firmware upgrade.. 2015-01-08 17:01:58 
billgentles
Joined: 2011-04-03 13:41:09
Posts: 1
Location

When I download the HEX file for the firmware upgrade, and unzip it, I get two folders, labeled Hardware 1.1 and Hardware 1.11. The folders have different hex files.  I can't find anything which tells me which version I should use.

I have Xminilab portable that came with Firmware 2.2. I successfully loaded the firmware for hardware 1.11, using Flip and the instructions in the user manual, but now the text on the screen is shifted to the left by a couple of pixels, and there is a bar up the right side of the screen that is 2 pixels wide.

Please tell me what I have done wrong.

Solved! I opened the case and found 1.1 printed on the board. Loaded firmware for hardware 1.1 and the screen shift problem has gone. You could save people a lot of time if the readme mentioned that there are two different hardware versions, and how to find which one you have. Or maybe mark it on the outside of the case of the Xminilab portable.

Love the scope.

IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Re:Firmware upgrade.. 2016-03-30 20:57:07 
freshfeesh
Joined: 2014-04-12 01:44:02
Posts: 3
Location: Richmond, CA

"When I download the HEX file for the firmware upgrade, and unzip it, I get two folders, labeled Hardware 1.1 and Hardware 1.11. The folders have different hex files.  I can't find anything which tells me which version I should use.

...

Solved! I opened the case and found 1.1 printed on the board. Loaded firmware for hardware 1.1 and the screen shift problem has gone. You could save people a lot of time if the readme mentioned that there are two different hardware versions, and how to find which one you have. Or maybe mark it on the outside of the case of the Xminilab portable."

I also have the same question, and I also opened up the case and see 1.1 printed on the board.  However, since that's a silkscreen on the PCB, it's possible that there's a hardware difference in another component that distinguishes 1.1 from 1.11.  This post talks about HW 1.11 having a different part number of display, an associated bug, and a firmware fix for that bug.
Gabriel, can you tell us how to tell the difference?
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Firmware upgrade.. 2016-04-03 10:47:30 
ganzziani
Joined: 2012-04-02 15:42:39
Posts: 463
Location: Sarasota, FL
 
Hardware 1.11 uses the same PCB but has a newer OLED. The new OLED uses a different controller which requires slightly different firmware.
IP Logged
Gabriel Anzziani
Page # 


Powered by ccBoard